Metaphor

For poetry this week students have been experimenting with the use of metaphor.

Which one is your favourite?

I am an owl,
Hooting all night,
I am an owl wise in the light,
I am an owl I soar higher than planes,
I am an owl I drive people insane,
I am an owl
By Liam Mor

I am a brick wall
I am mightier than a shield
I deflect bad comments
and I am amazing on every angle
By Daniel

I am a monkey
Swinging from tree to tree
Nobody can catch me
Because I am a monkey
I will eat bananas all day
Because they are my only prey
I am a monkey
By Liam Mac

I am a tree because
I am quiet
I sway in the wind
I am tall and still
But I leak when I am sad
I fall when I am hurt
So nobody can change me
Because I am who I am
By Shanae

I am a ball
Hard to be broken
I am a ball because no one can flatten me
I am a ball, I bounce back from bad situations
I am a ball, I will not hurt anyone that angers me
By Declan

I am a cloud,
Softer than a rabbit,
I cannot be hurt by what people say,
Because I am a cloud,
Rain falls from me,
I am moist,
I love the sun when it shines.
By Adella

I am a car because I’m faster
Than anyone else.
I could take anyone on and beat them by a mile.
I’m so fast that if I hit someone they will die in an instant
By Jamie

I am a basketball
Nobody can defeat me
Because I am a basketball
I can go through a hoop and score you points
I am a basketball, I am the best
By Molly

I am a tree
I have to breathe to survive
I am an awesome thing
I stand my ground.
By Ned

I am a cape ground squirrel
I am as tough as a rock
I live with the pack
I am not scared of snakes
I am courageous
By Tom

I am a lion because I stand my ground
I am a lion because I never back down
I am a lion because I’m not afraid
I am a lion because I’m a stray
I am a lion because I stand up for my friends
I am a lion!
By Levi

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *